Rules FAQ


Rule 27-1

Original Ball Found, Player wishes to Continue with Provisional Ball

Q.  A player played his tee shot into deep woods. He played a provisional ball to the fairway. Before reaching the provisional ball a few spectators, a fellow-competitor, or an official have found a ball in the area where the original is likely to be. Can the player still continue with the provisional ball?

A.  No. Once a ball is found in that area, the player is obligated to identify it. A player may not declare a ball lost. (See Decisions 27/16 and 27-2/2)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Provisional Balls
Learn when you can play a provisional ball and when you must abandon it.
View Video
Video
Ball Lost or Out of bounds
What do do when you ball is lost or out of bounds
View Video
Video
Tee shots into a ravine
On the third playoff hole at the 2001 Buick Invitational, Phil Mickelson and Frank Lickliter both drove their tee shots into a ravine.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
Landed in a tree
During the 3rd round of the 1987 US Open, Tommy Nakajima’s approach shot on the final hole landed in a tree, short of the green. A volunteer helped him search for the ball, but to no avail.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth