Rules FAQ


Rule 25-1

Soft, Mushy Earth

Q.  Is soft mushy earth considered casual water?

A.  No. Soft, mushy earth is not casual water unless water is visible on the surface before or after the player takes his stance - see Definition of "Casual Water." (Decision 25/1)


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Abnormal Ground Conditions
Dealing with abnormal ground conditions
View Video
Video
Nearest Point of Relief
How to determine your nearest point of relief
View Video
Video
Abnormal ground condition
During the 1996 U.S. Amateur Championship, while battling for the title with Tiger Woods, Steve Scott hit a tee shot that came to rest on this French drain in the fairway. The rutted drain had been declared an “abnormal ground condition,” and under Rule 25-1, Scott therefore was entitled to relief without penalty.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
On the fringe of a wrong putting green
During the 2002 Ryder Cup, Tiger Woods’ ball came to rest on the fringe of a wrong putting green. Rule 25-3 says interference from a wrong putting green occurs only when the ball rests actually on that green.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth