Rules FAQ


Rule 25-1

Player Steps around Ball to Force Up Water

Q.  A player steps all around his ball to force up water on the surface. He then claims his ball lies in casual water. What is the ruling?

A.  Casual water does not exist in this case. The Definition of "Casual Water" states that it is water that is visible before or after the player takes his stance. See also Decision 25/5


Below you can view videos related to this Rule.

Video
Abnormal Ground Conditions
Dealing with abnormal ground conditions
View Video
Video
Nearest Point of Relief
How to determine your nearest point of relief
View Video
Video
Abnormal ground condition
During the 1996 U.S. Amateur Championship, while battling for the title with Tiger Woods, Steve Scott hit a tee shot that came to rest on this French drain in the fairway. The rutted drain had been declared an “abnormal ground condition,” and under Rule 25-1, Scott therefore was entitled to relief without penalty.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth
Video
On the fringe of a wrong putting green
During the 2002 Ryder Cup, Tiger Woods’ ball came to rest on the fringe of a wrong putting green. Rule 25-3 says interference from a wrong putting green occurs only when the ball rests actually on that green.
RealPlayer Windows Media Player
High Bandwidth High Bandwidth
Low Bandwidth Low Bandwidth