Presented by ROLEX                        Rules and Decisions

Browse the 2012-2015 Rules

OBSTRUCTIONS: GENERAL

24/1

Steps Attached to Boundary Fence

Q.Is a set of steps attached to a boundary fence an obstruction?

A.Yes, unless the Committee declares it to be an integral part of the course under Rule 33-2a(iv). (Revised)

24/2

Angled Supports or Guy Wires Supporting Boundary Fence

Q.Angled supports or guy wires support a boundary fence or a protective net above such a fence. If the angled supports or guy wires extend onto the course, are they obstructions?

A.Any part of such an angled support or guy wire which is in bounds is an obstruction.

24/3

Concrete Bases of Boundary Fence Posts

Q.Posts of a boundary fence have been set in concrete bases 14 inches in diameter. Are the parts of the bases within the boundary of the course obstructions?

A.No. Such a base is part of the fence and thus no part of it is an obstruction – see Definition of "Obstructions." If such bases are at or below ground level, the boundary line is the inside points of the fence posts at ground level. If they are above ground level, the Committee should clarify the location of the boundary line.

24/4

Part of Boundary Fence Within Boundary Line

Q.Part of a boundary fence is bowed towards the course so that it is inside the boundary line formed by the fence posts. A player's ball comes to rest against this part of the fence. Is the player entitled to relief under Rule 24-2b?

A.No. A fence defining out of bounds is not an obstruction even if part of it is inside the boundary line formed by the fence posts – see Definitions of "Obstructions" and "Out of Bounds."

24/5

Boundary Stakes Having No Significance in Play of Hole Being Played

Q.White stakes installed between the 7th and 8th holes define out of bounds during play of the 7th hole, but they have no significance during play of the 8th hole. Are such stakes obstructions during play of the 8th hole?

A.No, the Definition of "Out of Bounds" states that such stakes are not obstructions. However, in this case it is recommended that, by Local Rule, the stakes be deemed immovable obstructions during play of the 8th hole.

Related Decision:

33-8/14 Local Rule Deeming Interior Boundary Fence to Be an Obstruction.

Decisions related to 24/1 through 24/5:

• See "Boundary Fence, Line, Wall or Stakes; Wall" in the Index.

24/6

Stone Broken Away from Retaining Wall in Water Hazard

Q.A player's ball in a water hazard is in a playable lie but it is directly behind a stone which has broken away from a retaining wall in the hazard. The wall is an immovable obstruction from which the player is not entitled to relief without penalty. Is the stone which has broken away a movable obstruction, in which case the player may remove it before playing a stroke?

A.Yes.

24/7

Stone Serving as Part of Drain in Bunker

Q.A large movable stone has been placed at the entrance to a drain in a bunker to prevent sand from washing into the drain. What is the status of such a stone?

A.The stone when used in this manner is an obstruction. If it is readily movable, it is a movable obstruction unless the Committee deems it immovable. (Revised)

24/8

Parked Car

Q.A player's ball lies under a parked car. What is the procedure?

A.If the car is readily movable, it should be treated as a movable obstruction and moved – see Rule 24-1.

If the car is not readily movable, it should be treated as an immovable obstruction and the player is entitled to relief as provided in Rule 24-2b.

24/9

Artificially-Surfaced Road or Path

Q.An artificially-surfaced road or path is an obstruction. What constitutes artificial surfacing?

A.A road or path to which any foreign material, e.g., concrete, tar, gravel, wood chips, etc. has been applied is artificially surfaced and thus an obstruction.

Related Decision:

23/14 Loose Impediments Used to Surface Road.

24/10 (Reserved)

24/11 (Reserved)

24/12

Wooden or Earthen Steps

Wooden steps which have been constructed on a steep bank are obstructions – see Decision 23/1.

Steps which have been cut into a steep bank but which have not been covered with any artificial material such as wooden planks are not obstructions.

24/13 (Reserved)

24/14

Turf Raised by Underground Pipe

Q.A water pipe is partly underground and partly above ground. In some areas where the pipe is underground it has raised the turf. Is such turf, which has been raised by an obstruction, considered part of the obstruction?

A.No.

Other Decisions related to Rule 24: See "Obstructions" and "Status of Object" in the Index.

MOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS

24-1/1 (Reserved)

24-1/2

Abandoned Ball

Q.A player's ball comes to rest against an abandoned ball. What is the procedure?

A.An abandoned ball is a movable obstruction. The player may remove it under Rule 24-1.

Rule 22-2, which deals specifically with one ball interfering with another, does not apply. It applies only if a ball in play interferes with another ball in play.

24-1/3

Movable Artificial Object Lying Out of Bounds

Q.A movable artificial object lying out of bounds interferes with a player's stance. May the player remove it?

A.Yes. Rule 24-1 applies.

Related Decision:

23-1/9 Removal of Loose Impediment Lying Out of Bounds.

24-1/4

Holding Ball in Place While Removing Obstruction

Q.During removal of a movable obstruction, may a player hold his ball to prevent it from moving?

A.No. Such procedure would be a breach of Rule 18-2a. There is no penalty if a ball moves during removal of a movable obstruction provided the movement of the ball is directly attributable to the removal of the obstruction.

Related Decisions:

18-2a/31 Ball Touched Accidentally in Removing Loose Impediments.

18-2a/32 Ball Touched with Fir Cone or Stick to Prevent Movement When Loose Impediments Removed.

24-1/5

Position of Ball Marked Before Obstruction Removed; Ball Moves When Ball-Marker Removed

Q.A player's ball lies against a movable obstruction. Before removing the obstruction, the player marks the position of his ball so that he will be able to replace the ball precisely if the ball moves when the obstruction is removed. The player removes the obstruction and the ball does not move. However, the ball moves when the ball-marker is removed. What is the ruling?

A.The ball-marker is itself a movable obstruction. Accordingly, under Rule 24-1, the player incurs no penalty and he must replace the ball.

Related Decision:

20-1/15 Meaning of "Directly Attributable" in Rules 20-1 and 20-3a.

Other Decisions related to Rule 24-1: See "Obstructions" in the Index.

INTERFERENCE BY IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS

24-2a/1

Mental Interference by Obstruction

Q.A player's ball lies several inches to the side of a sprinkler head. The sprinkler head does not physically interfere with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. However, the sprinkler head bothers the player mentally. Is the player entitled to relief under Rule 24-2b?

A.No. See Rule 24-2a.

Related Decision:

22/1 Mental Interference by Another Ball.

 

RELIEF FROM IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS

24-2b/1

Determining "Nearest Point of Relief"

Q.The Note to the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" provides that the player should determine this point by using "the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such stroke." May the player use any club, address position, direction of play or swing in determining the nearest point of relief?

A.No. In determining the nearest point of relief accurately it is recommended that the player use the club, address position, direction of play and swing (right or left-handed) that he would have used had the obstruction or condition not been there. For example, the player has interference from an immovable obstruction and, were it not for the obstruction, he would have used a right-handed stroke with a 4-iron to play the ball from its original position towards the green. To determine the nearest point of relief accurately, he should use a right-handed stroke with a 4-iron and the direction of play should be towards the green. See also Decisions 20-2c/0.7 and 20-2c/0.8.

Related Decisions:

24-2b/3.7 Diagram Illustrating Player Unable to Determine Nearest Point of Relief.

24-2b/4 Club Used to Determine Nearest Point of Relief Not Used for Next Stroke.

25-1b/2 Diagrams Illustrating "Nearest Point of Relief."

24-2b/2

Player Does Not Follow Recommended Procedure in Determining Nearest Point of Relief

Q.A player's ball lies on an artificially-surfaced path, which is an immovable obstruction, through the green. The ball is situated at the left edge of the obstruction and the player is right-handed. The player elects to take relief under Rule 24-2b(i) but does not go through the procedure recommended in the Note to the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" for determining the nearest point of relief. Instead, he lifts the ball and drops it within one club-length of the nearest edge of the obstruction, not nearer the hole than the ball's original position, and plays it. What is the ruling?

A.Provided the ball is dropped on a spot that satisfies the requirements of Rule 24-2b(i) and the ball did not roll into a position requiring a re-drop under Rule 20-2c, the player incurs no penalty.

Although there is a recommended procedure for determining the nearest point of relief, the Rules do not require a player to determine this point when proceeding under Rule 24-2, 24-3, 25-1 or 25-3. If a player does not determine a nearest point of relief accurately or identifies an incorrect nearest point of relief, a penalty only arises if, as a result, the player drops his ball at a spot which does not satisfy the requirements of the Rule under which he is proceeding and he then plays the ball (e.g., the spot is more than one-club length from the correct nearest point of relief or the ball is dropped nearer to the hole than the nearest point of relief). In such circumstances, the player would be penalized for playing from a wrong place (Rule 20-7).

24-2b/3

Player Determines Nearest Point of Relief But Physically Unable to Play Intended Stroke

Q.In proceeding under Rule 24-2b(i) or Rule 25-1b(i), the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" provides that to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club, address position, direction of play and swing (right or left-handed) that he would have used to make his next stroke had the obstruction or condition not been there. What is the procedure if, having determined the stroke he would have used, he is unable physically to make such a stroke from, what would appear to be, the nearest point of relief because either (a) the direction of play is blocked by a tree, or (b) he is unable to take the backswing for the intended stroke due to a bush?

A.The point identified is the nearest point of relief. The fact that at this point the player cannot make the intended stroke due to something other than the obstruction or condition from which relief is being taken does not alter this result. The player must drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole. Once the ball is in play, the player must then decide what type of stroke he will make. This stroke may be different from the one he would have made from the ball's original position had the obstruction or condition not been there.

24-2b/3.5

Player Unable Physically to Determine Nearest Point of Relief

Q.In proceeding under Rule 24-2b(i) or Rule 25-1b(i), the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" provides that to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club, address position, direction of play and swing (right or left-handed) that he would have used from the original position had the obstruction or condition not been there. What is the procedure if a player is unable physically to determine the nearest point of relief because, for example, that point is within the trunk of a tree or a boundary fence prevents the player from adopting the required address position?

A.The nearest point of relief in both cases must be estimated and the player must drop the ball within one club-length of the estimated point, not nearer the hole.

Decision related to 24-2b/3 and 24-2b/3.5:

33-8/19 Local Rule Permitting Relief on Specified Side of Paved Path.

24-2b/3.7

Diagram Illustrating Player Unable to Determine Nearest Point of Relief

The diagram illustrates the point raised in Decision 24-2b/3.5 where a player may be unable to determine the nearest point of relief from an immovable obstruction and will need to estimate this point under Rule 24-2b.

Related Decisions:

24-2b/1 Determining "Nearest Point of Relief."

25-1b/2 Diagrams Illustrating "Nearest Point of Relief."

24-2b/4

Club Used to Determine Nearest Point of Relief Not Used for Next Stroke

Q.The Note to the Definition of "Nearest Point of Relief" states: "In order to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such stroke." If the subsequent lie of the ball were such that it was expedient for the player to play his next stroke with some other club, may the player use the other club?

A.Yes.

Related Decisions:

20-2c/0.7 Ball Dropped from Immovable Obstruction Rolls Nearer Obstruction than Nearest Point of Relief; Whether Re-Drop Required If Player Changes Clubs and Obstruction No Longer Interferes.

20-2c/0.8 Player Takes Relief from an Area of Ground Under Repair; Whether Re-Drop Required If Condition Interferes for Stroke with Club Not Used to Determine "Nearest Point of Relief."

24-2b/5

Player Who Lifts Ball Under First Option of Rule 24-2b(ii) Then Wishes to Proceed Under Second Option

Q.A player elects to take relief from an immovable obstruction in a bunker. He lifts the ball to take relief without penalty under the first option of clause (ii) but realizes that where he will have to drop the ball will result in a very difficult shot. May he now elect to proceed under the second option of clause (ii) incurring the penalty stroke and drop outside the bunker?

A.Yes. The player lifted the ball to take relief from the immovable obstruction and is entitled to proceed under either of the options under Rule 24-2b(ii), irrespective of the fact that his original intention was to proceed under the first option. However, the player would be precluded from using the second option under Rule 24-2b(ii) if he had put the ball into play under the first option – see Decision 25-1b/9.

Other Decisions related to whether a player may change a selected relief option after taking further action: See "Ball Dropped or Re-Dropped: changing relief option" in the Index.

24-2b/6

Relief from Immovable Obstruction Incidentally Results in Relief from Boundary Fence

Q.A player's ball is in such a position that a boundary fence and an immovable obstruction near the fence both interfere with the area of the player's intended swing. It is reasonable for him to play the stroke despite the interference from the boundary fence. If the player takes relief from the obstruction under Rule 24-2b, he will incidentally get relief from the fence. Is the player entitled to invoke Rule 24-2b in such circumstances?

A.Yes.

24-2b/7

Relief from Obstruction Interfering with Swing Incidentally Gives Relief from Intervention on Line of Play

Q.A player's ball lies behind an immovable obstruction. The obstruction interferes with the player's swing and also intervenes on his line of play. In obtaining relief from interference with his swing, must the player drop the ball in such a position that intervention on the line of play is maintained?

A.No. Since the obstruction interferes with the player's swing, the player is entitled to relief under Rule 24-2b. If, in proceeding under this Rule, the player could drop the ball in a place which would also avoid intervention on his line of play, he is entitled to do so.

24-2b/8

Dropping from Rough to Fairway in Obtaining Relief from Obstruction

Q.A player whose ball lies in the rough close to the fairway is entitled to relief from an immovable obstruction. In obtaining relief under Rule 24-2b(i), may the player drop the ball on the fairway?

A.Yes. There is no distinction in the Rules between fairway and rough; both are covered by the term "through the green."

24-2b/9

After Relief from Obstruction Second Obstruction Interferes

Q.A player obtaining relief from an immovable obstruction drops his ball in such a position that another immovable obstruction interferes with his swing. What is the procedure?

A.The player is entitled to relief from the second obstruction as provided in Rule 24-2b.

Related Decision:

20-2c/7 Player Takes Relief from Area of Casual Water and Ball Comes to Rest in a Position Where Another Area of Casual Water Interferes; Whether Re-Drop Required.

24-2b/9.5

After Relief Taken from Obstruction for Stroke Towards Green, Obstruction Interferes with Stance for Necessary Sideways Stroke

Q.With regard to the diagram, Point X is the original position of the ball and Point A is the nearest point of relief from the obstruction (cart path). The player drops his ball within one club-length of Point A (within the shaded area) and it comes to rest on the cart path at Point B. He re-drops as required by Rule 20-2c, again dropping within one club-length of Point A and the ball comes to rest at Point C.

At Point C there is no interference by the cart path for a stroke towards the green. However, the player cannot play towards the green from Point C because of intervention by the tree. His only reasonable stroke is sideways to the fairway, and his stance for such a stroke would be on the cart path. Is the player now required to place the ball as near as possible to the spot where it first struck the ground when re-dropped in accordance with Rule 20-2c?

A.No. The player is not entitled to place the ball because at Point C there is no interference by the cart path for a stroke towards the green, the intended direction of play when relief was taken. However, as a result of the tree, the player has a new situation. He is entitled to take relief under Rule 24-2b(i) for the sideways stroke since this is not an unnecessarily abnormal direction of play – see Exception under Rule 24-2b – and his nearest point of relief would be Point D. After the ball is dropped within one club-length of Point D (within the shaded area) and it comes to rest at Point E, the player may play in any direction he wishes.

Related Decisions:

24-2b/17 Obstruction Interferes with Abnormal Stroke; Abnormal Stroke Reasonable in Circumstances.

25-1b/22 Cast of Burrowing Animal Interferes with Sideways Stroke; When Relief Granted.

24-2b/10

Obstruction in Ground Under Repair Interferes with Player's Swing

Q.An immovable obstruction situated within an area defined as ground under repair interferes with the area of the player's intended swing. May the player take relief from the obstruction under Rule 24-2b, drop his ball in the ground under repair and then have the option of playing the ball as it lies or proceeding under Rule 25-1b which provides relief from ground under repair?

A.Yes.

Related Decisions:

24-2b/19 Stroke at Ball Impracticable Due to Interference by Immovable Obstruction and Casual Water.

25-1b/11 Ball in Casual Water Within Ground Under Repair.

25-1b/11.5 Ball in Casual Water Within Ground Under Repair; Whether Player Entitled to Take Relief from Both Conditions in Single Procedure.

25-2/4 Ball Embedded in Ground Under Repair in Closely-Mown Area.

24-2b/11

Ball Lying on Elevated Part of Immovable Obstruction

Q.A ball comes to rest on the elevated part of an immovable obstruction, such as the walkway of a bridge over a deep hollow. What is the ruling?

A.If the player elects to take relief, vertical distance is disregarded. The nearest point of relief (Point X) is deemed to be at the point on the ground directly beneath where the ball lies on the obstruction, provided the player would not have interference, as defined in Rule 24-2a, at this point. The player may proceed under Rule 24-2b by dropping the ball within one club-length of Point X.

In a situation where there would be interference with some part of the obstruction (e.g., a supporting column) for a ball positioned at Point X, the ball is deemed to lie at Point X. The player may proceed under Rule 24-2b by determining the nearest point of relief for a ball lying at Point X.

The procedure is different where a ball lies underground (e.g., in a tunnel). In such a case, all distance, whether vertical or horizontal, is taken into account when determining the nearest point of relief. In some cases, the nearest point of relief would be near the entrance to the tunnel, and in other cases it would be above the tunnel and would need to be estimated.

Related Decisions:

25-1b/23 Ball Enters Burrowing Animal Hole Out of Bounds and Comes to Rest in Bounds.

25-1b/24 Ball Enters Burrowing Animal Hole in Bounds and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds.

25-1b/25 Ball Enters Burrowing Animal Hole in Bunker and Is Found Underneath Putting Green.

25-1b/25.5 Application of Exception to Rule 25-1b When Ball Lies Underground in Burrowing Animal Hole.

28/11 Ball Unplayable in Tree and Player Opts to Drop Within Two Club-Lengths.

28/12 Ball Unplayable at Base of Cliff and Player Wishes to Drop Within Two Club-Lengths of Point Above Ball.

24-2b/12

Ball in Drainpipe Under Course; Entrance to Drainpipe Is Out of Bounds

Q.A ball enters an underground drainpipe the entrance to which is out of bounds. The ball is found in the drainpipe under an area that is through the green. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 24-2b(i), the player is entitled to drop the ball, without penalty, within one club-length of the spot on the ground immediately above its resting place in the drainpipe, but not nearer the hole and not in a hazard or on a putting green. A boundary line extends vertically upwards and downwards – see Definition of "Out of Bounds."

If the player cannot find or identify the ball and it is known or virtually certain that the ball is in the drainpipe within the boundaries of the course, the player may invoke Rule 24-3b. As that part of the drainpipe situated off the course is not an obstruction (see Definition of "Obstruction") the ball "last crossed the outermost limits of the immovable obstruction" where the underground drainpipe coincides with the boundary line. Therefore, as stated above, the player may drop a ball, without penalty, within one club-length of the spot on the ground immediately above where the drainpipe coincides with the boundary line, on a part of the course that is not nearer the hole, not in a hazard or on a putting green.

If it is neither known nor virtually certain that the ball is in the drainpipe, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

Related Decision:

24-3b/1 Ball Lost in Underground Drainpipe.

24-2b/13 (Reserved)

24-2b/14

Window of Clubhouse Opened and Ball Played Through Window

Q.A competitor hit a ball into a clubhouse which was not out of bounds and had not been declared an integral part of the course.

In order to play it out, he opened a window, claiming that it was a movable (or partially movable) obstruction. Was this permissible?

A.Yes. The clubhouse was an immovable obstruction. However, any part of it designed to be movable, such as a window or door, may be moved to any position if this can be done without undue delay.

 

The same principle would apply if the clubhouse had been declared an integral part of the course.

24-2b/15

Opening Barn Doors to Play Shot Through Barn

Q.May a player open the doors of a barn to enable him to play a shot through the barn?

A.Yes. A barn is an immovable obstruction, but the doors are movable and may be opened. See also Decision 24-2b/14.

24-2b/15.3

Status of Movable Part of Drainage Hose

Q.In a water hazard, a player's swing is interfered with by a drainage hose. One end of the hose is immovable, i.e., it is anchored in the ground. However, that part of the hose interfering with the player's swing can readily be moved to one side or the other. Is the player entitled to move the hose to one side so that it does not interfere with his swing?

A.Yes, since the part of the hose interfering with the player's swing is designed to be movable.

24-2b/15.5

Door of Building in Open or Closed Position

Q.A player's ball lies through the green and near the open door of a building on the course (immovable obstruction). When open, the door interferes with the player's area of intended swing, but when the door is closed the player does not have interference from the door or building. How may the player proceed?

A.With the door in the open position in which he found it, the player has interference, as defined by Rule 24-2a, from an immovable obstruction; therefore, he is entitled to relief without penalty in accordance with Rule 24-2b. Additionally, as the door is designed to be movable, the player may move the door to any other position to eliminate interference (see Decisions 24-2b/14 and 24-2b/15).

If the player did not have interference from the door, he was not entitled to move the door to another position for the purpose of giving himself interference under Rule 24-2a.

Decision related to 24-2b/14 through 24-2b/15.5:

13-2/32 Improving Line of Play by Removing Stone from Wall.

24-2b/16

Obstruction Interferes But Ball Unplayable Due to Some Other Condition

Q.A player's ball lies between two exposed tree roots. The ball is clearly unplayable due to the roots. An immovable obstruction is so located that it would interfere with the player's backswing if the player could play the ball. The player claims he is entitled to relief, without penalty, under Rule 24-2b(i). Is the player correct?

A.No. See Exception under Rule 24-2b. The player must invoke Rule 28.

Related Decision:

25-1b/19 Ball Lies on Mound Made by Burrowing Animal; Impracticable to Make Stroke Due to Bush.

24-2b/17

Obstruction Interferes with Abnormal Stroke; Abnormal Stroke Reasonable in Circumstances

Q.A right-handed player's ball is so close to a boundary fence on the left of a hole that the player, in order to play towards the hole, must play left-handed. In making a left-handed stroke, the player's backswing would be interfered with by an immovable obstruction. Is the player entitled to relief from the obstruction?

A.The player is entitled to relief since use of an abnormal (left-handed) stroke is reasonable in the circumstances – see Exception under Rule 24-2b.

The proper procedure is for the player to take relief for a left-handed stroke in accordance with Rule 24-2b(i).

The player may then use a normal right-handed swing for his next stroke. If the obstruction interferes with the swing or stance for the right-handed stroke, the player may take relief for the right-handed stroke in accordance with Rule 24-2b(i).

Related Decisions:

24-2b/9.5 After Relief Taken from Obstruction for Stroke Towards Green, Obstruction Interferes with Stance for Necessary Sideways Stroke.

25-1b/22 Cast of Burrowing Animal Interferes with Sideways Stroke; When Relief Granted.

24-2b/18

Obstruction Interferes with Abnormal Stroke; Abnormal Stroke Not Reasonable in Circumstances

Q.A right-handed player's ball is in a poor lie. A nearby immovable obstruction would not interfere with a normal right-handed swing but it would interfere with a left-handed swing. The player says he wishes to make his next stroke left-handed and, since the obstruction would interfere with such a stroke, he is entitled to proceed under Rule 24-2b. May the player invoke Rule 24-2b?

A.No. If the only reason for the player to use a left-handed stroke is to escape a poor lie, use of an abnormal (left-handed) stroke is clearly unreasonable and the player is not entitled to invoke Rule 24-2b – see Exception under Rule 24-2b.

24-2b/19

Stroke at Ball Impracticable Due to Interference by Immovable Obstruction and Casual Water

Q.A player's ball lies against an immovable obstruction in casual water. It is clearly impracticable for him to make a stroke because of interference by either of them. The Exceptions to Rule 24-2b and Rule 25-1b appear to preclude free relief from either because of interference by the other. Is this correct?

A.No. The player may take relief without penalty under either Rule 24-2b or Rule 25-1b. The purpose of the Exception to each of these Rules is to prevent the player from fortuitously obtaining free relief when it is clearly impracticable for him to make a stroke because of interference by something from which free relief is not available.

Related Decisions:

1-4/8 Nearest Point of Relief from Cart Path Is in Casual Water; Nearest Point of Relief from Casual Water Is Back on Cart Path.

24-2b/10 Obstruction in Ground Under Repair Interferes with Player's Swing.

25-1b/11.5 Ball in Casual Water Within Ground Under Repair; Whether Player Entitled to Take Relief from Both Conditions in Single Procedure.

25-2/4 Ball Embedded in Ground Under Repair in Closely-Mown Area.

24-2b/20

Interference by Line or Mark on Ground Consisting of Lime or Paint

Q.A ball comes to rest on a line or other mark on the ground consisting of lime or paint that has been drawn for gallery-control purposes or for providing fixed reference points relating to yardage. Is the player entitled to relief under Rule 24-2b?

A.No. Such lines or marks are not obstructions.

However, the Committee may, by Local Rule, declare such areas to be ground under repair.

Related Decision:

21/1 Removing Paint from Ball.

24-2b/21

Interference by Immovable Artificial Object Situated Out of Bounds

Q.An immovable artificial object situated out of bounds interferes with a player's swing. May the player obtain relief as provided in Rule 24-2b?

A.No. Immovable artificial objects off the course are not obstructions (see Definition of "Obstructions"); therefore, the Rules provide no relief without penalty.

Related Decisions:

13-2/19 Improving Area of Intended Swing by Moving Growing or Fixed Object Situated Out of Bounds.

13-2/20 Part of Fence Off Course Leans Across Boundary and Interferes with Swing.

BALL IN IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTION NOT FOUND

24-3b/1

Ball Lost in Underground Drainpipe

Q.A player's ball goes into an underground drainpipe, but he cannot reach or identify it. What is the ruling?

A.An underground drainpipe or culvert is an obstruction. If it is known or virtually certain that the ball is in the immovable obstruction, the player may invoke Rule 24-3b. Under Rule 24-3b the ball is deemed to lie at the spot where it last crossed the outermost limits of the obstruction.

If the entrance to the underground drainpipe or culvert is in a water hazard, Rule 24-3b(iii) applies and the player is not entitled to relief without penalty and must proceed under Rule 26-1.

If the entrance to the underground drainpipe or culvert is out of bounds and it is neither known nor virtually certain that the ball is within the boundaries of the course, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1 – see Decision 24-2b/12.

Related Decisions:

25/10 Ball Lost in Tree in Ground Under Repair.

25-1c/1.5 Clarification of Point Where Ball "Last Crossed Outermost Limits" of Abnormal Ground Condition.

Other Decisions related to Rule 24-3: See "Virtually Certain (or Known)" in the Index.

Rules

Decisions

Partner Links
AmEx image
AmEx image
AmEx image
AmEx image
Chevron
   

The USGA and Chevron have committed to using the game of golf to encourage students in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) disciplines. This commitment has led to the creation of extensive golf-focused STEM teaching tools, and has resulted in charitable contributions to support golf-related programs through Eagles for Education™

At U.S. Open Championships the Chevron STEM ZONE™ is an interactive experience highlighting the science and math behind the game of golf through a variety of hands-on exhibits and experiments.

The partnership has also produced educational materials such as the Science of Golf video series and a nationally-distributed newspaper insert which are provided to teachers as tools to enhance existing curriculum in schools. These lessons teach the science behind the USGA’s equipment testing, handicapping, and agronomy efforts.

For more interactive experiences featuring golf-focused STEM lessons, visit the partnership homepage.


Chevron image
Rolex
   

Rolex has been a longtime supporter of the USGA and salutes the sportsmanship and great traditions unique to the game. This support includes the Rules of Golf where Rolex has partnered with the USGA to ensure golfers understand and appreciate the game.

As the official timekeeper of the USGA and its championships, they also provide clocks throughout host sites for spectator convenience.

For more information on Rolex and their celebration of the game, visit the Rolex and Golf homepage.



Rolex image
IBM
   

IBM has partnered with the USGA to bring the same technology, expertise, and innovation it provides to businesses all over the world to the USGA and golf's national championship.

IBM provides the information technology to develop and host the U.S. Open’s official website, www.usopen.com, as well as the mobile apps and scoring systems for the three U.S. Open championships. These real-time technology solutions provide an enhanced experience for fans following the championship onsite and online.

For more information on IBM and the technology that powers the U.S. Open and businesses worldwide, visit http://www.usopen.com/IBM

AmEx image
Lexus
   

Lexus is committed to partnering with the USGA to deliver a best-in-class experience for the world’s best golfers by providing a fleet of courtesy luxury vehicles for all USGA Championships.

At each U.S. Open, Women’s Open and Senior Open, Lexus provides spectators with access to unique experiences ranging from the opportunity to have a picture taken with both the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open trophies to autograph signings with legendary Lexus Golf Ambassadors in the Lexus Performance Drive Pavilion.

For more information on Lexus, visit http://www.lexus.com/

AmEx image
American Express
   

Together, American Express and the USGA have been providing world-class service to golf fans since 2006. By creating interactive U.S. Open experiences both onsite and online, American Express enhances the USGA’s effort to make the game more accessible and enjoyable for fans.

For more information on American Express visit www.americanexpress.com/entertainment


AmEx image