Presented by ROLEX                        Rules and Decisions

Browse the 2012-2015 Rules

BALL IN MOTION DEFLECTED OR STOPPED: GENERAL

19/1

Ball Deflected or Stopped by Golf Cart Shared by Two Players

Under the Definition of "Equipment," equipment includes a golf cart, whether or not motorized. If two or more players share a golf cart, the cart and everything in it are deemed to be the equipment of one of the players sharing the cart. If the cart is being moved by one of the players (or the partner of one of the players) sharing it, the cart and everything in it are deemed to be that player's equipment. Otherwise, the cart and everything in it are deemed to be the equipment of the player sharing the cart whose ball (or whose partner's ball) is involved.

Thus, for example, in a singles match, if A and B are sharing a cart and A's ball in motion is deflected or stopped by the cart, A incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2) unless the cart is being driven or pulled by B when the incident occurs. If B is driving or pulling the cart, there is no penalty, and A would have the option of playing his ball as it lies or replaying the stroke (Rule 19-3).

Related Decision:

18/8 Ball Moved by Golf Cart Shared by Two Players.

19/2

Status of Person in Shared Golf Cart

Q.In Note 2 of the Definition of "Equipment" does the phrase "and everything in it" include any person in the cart?

A.Yes.

Related Decisions:

6-4/2.5 Status of Individual Who Transports Player's Clubs on Motorized Golf Cart or Trolley.

33-1/9.5 Breach of Transportation Condition by Caddie.

33-8/4 Local Rule for Events in Which Motorized Golf Carts Permitted.

BALL DEFLECTED OR STOPPED BY OUTSIDE AGENCY

19-1/1

Ball Deflected by Direction Post

Q.A ball is deflected by a direction post. What is the ruling?

A.It is a rub of the green and the ball must be played as it lies, without penalty.

19-1/2

Player's Ball Deflected by Stroke of Player in Another Group

Q.A hit his ball over onto another fairway where, before it came to rest, it was struck by X in the course of striking his own ball. X's ball went 20 yards. A's ball could not be found. What is the ruling?

A.Each player was an outside agency in relation to the other.

Under Rule 19-1, A would have been obliged to play his ball as it lay, without penalty, if it had been found. Since it was not found, A must proceed under Rule 27-1.

X must play his ball as it lies, without penalty.

19-1/3

Ball Played from Putting Green Deflected by Moving Outside Agency; Stroke Not Replayed

Q.In stroke play, a competitor putts and his ball is deflected by a moving outside agency other than a worm, insect or the like. The competitor did not replay the stroke as required by Rule 19-1b, holed out and then played from the next tee. What is the ruling?

A.The stroke that was deflected by the outside agency does not count in the competitor's score. When the competitor failed to replay the stroke he played from a wrong place. If the breach was a serious one, he is disqualified – Rule 20-7c. Otherwise, the score with the original ball counts and he incurs a penalty of two strokes for breach of Rule 19.

19-1/4 (Reserved)

19-1/4.1

Ball Deliberately Deflected or Stopped Through the Green by Spectator

Q.A player overshoots a green. A spectator (X) who is standing behind the green deliberately deflects or stops the ball. According to the Note to Rule 19-1, the spot where the ball would have come to rest must be estimated. How does the player estimate the spot in such circumstances?

A.In a case where the ball might have come to rest where X was situated if he had not deliberately deflected or stopped it, the spot where X was situated should be the estimated spot for the purposes of dropping the ball in accordance with the Note. For example, if another spectator (Y) had been behind X, the ball might have struck Y if X had avoided it, and come to rest where X was situated.

If there is no question that the ball would have come to rest somewhere else if X had not deflected or stopped it, a judgment must be made as to where the ball would have come to rest, and the player should be given the benefit of any doubt. For example, if no person or object had been behind X and without any doubt the ball would have come to rest either in a lateral water hazard behind the green or in the rough just short of the hazard, the estimated spot for dropping the ball should be in the rough just short of the hazard.

19-1/5

Ball Deliberately Deflected or Stopped on Putting Green by Fellow-Competitor

Q.At the last hole of a stroke-play event, A's ball lies on the putting green. A has a putt to beat B by one stroke. A putts and B, seeing that A's ball might go into the hole, deliberately deflects it. What is the ruling?

A.A must replay his stroke, without penalty – see Note under Rule 19-1. As B's act of deliberately deflecting his fellow-competitor's ball placed A at a significant disadvantage, B should be considered to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 (Exerting Influence on Movement of Ball or Altering Physical Conditions) and should be disqualified.

Related Decisions:

1-2/0.5 Serious Breach of Rule 1-2.

1-2/1 Line of Putt Altered Purposely by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor by Stepping on It.

16-1b/3 Ball Lifted from Putting Green; Ball Replaced While Another Ball in Motion Subsequently Deflects Ball.

16-1b/4 Ball Lifted from Putting Green by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor While Player's Ball in Motion.

17-3/2 Opponent or Fellow-Competitor Attending Flagstick for Player Fails to Remove It; Player's Ball Strikes Flagstick.

19-1/6

Ball Picked Up or Deflected by Dog on Putting Green After Stroke from Off Green

Q.A ball played from off the green was about a foot from the hole and still in motion when it was moved by a dog to a spot about ten feet from the hole. The ball was either deflected by the dog or the dog picked it up, ran with it and dropped it. What is the ruling?

A.If the ball was deflected, it would be played as it lay, without penalty, from the spot to which it was moved by the dog (Rule 19-1).

If the dog picked up the ball, the player should have placed the ball, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where the original ball was when the dog picked it up (Rule 19-1a).

19-1/7

Ball Picked Up or Deflected by Dog on Putting Green After Stroke on Green

Q.A player plays a stroke on the putting green and, while the ball is still in motion, it is picked up and carried away, or is deflected, by a dog. What is the ruling?

A.In either case, the stroke is canceled and the ball must be replaced (Rule 19-1b).

Other Decisions related to Rule 19-1: See "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by outside agency" in the Index.

BALL DEFLECTED OR STOPPED BY PLAYER, PARTNER, CADDIE OR EQUIPMENT

19-2/1

Ball Stopped by Player's Foot Moves When Foot Removed

Q.A player making a stroke on the bank of a bunker hits the ball to the top of the bank. The ball then rolls down the bank and is accidentally stopped by the player's foot. The player removes his foot and the ball rolls into the footprint. What is the ruling?

A.The player incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2) and must replace the ball on the spot at which it came to rest against his foot. A further penalty under Rule 18-2a (Ball at Rest Moved by Player) does not apply in these circumstances provided the player replaces the ball, as related acts have resulted in two Rules being breached – see Principle 4 in Decision 1-4/12. If the ball is not replaced before the player makes his next stroke, the failure to replace the ball is considered an unrelated act – see Principle 5 in Decision 1-4/12 – and he loses the hole in match play or incurs an additional penalty of two strokes in stroke play under Rule 18-2a, for a total penalty of three strokes.

19-2/1.5

Ball Moves Prior to Address and Is Accidentally Stopped by Player's Club; Player Removes Club and Ball Moves Away

Q.A player's ball lies on a steep slope through the green. The player takes his stance but, fearing the ball might move, does not ground his club and so has not addressed the ball. The ball rolls backwards and is stopped accidentally by the player's club. The player then removes his club and the ball rolls farther down the slope. Is the player subject to the penalty of one stroke under Rule 19-2?

A.Yes, and the ball must be replaced on the spot at which it was stopped. A further penalty under Rule 18-2a (Ball at Rest Moved by Player) does not apply in the circumstances provided the player replaces the ball, as related acts have resulted in two Rules being breached – see Principle 4 in Decision 1-4/12. If the ball is not replaced before the player makes his next stroke, the failure to replace the ball is considered an unrelated act (see Principle 5 in Decision 1-4/12) and he loses the hole in match play or incurs an additional penalty of two strokes in stroke play under Rule 18-2a, for a total penalty of three strokes.

Decision related to 19-2/1 and 19-2/1.5:

18-2b/12 Ball Moves After Address and Is Stopped by Player's Club.

19-2/2

Player's Ball Strikes Own Caddie and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds

Q.A player's ball accidentally strikes his caddie, who is standing in bounds, and the ball comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A.The player incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2) and, since the ball lies out of bounds, he must proceed under Rule 27-1, incurring another penalty stroke.

19-2/3

Player's Ball Strikes Own Caddie Standing Out of Bounds and Comes to Rest on Course

Q.A player's ball accidentally strikes his caddie standing out of bounds and comes to rest in bounds. What is the ruling?

A.The player incurs a penalty of one stroke and, since the ball came to rest in bounds, it is in play – Rule 19-2.

19-2/4

Player's Ball Strikes Own Caddie Standing Out of Bounds and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds

Q.A player's ball accidentally strikes his caddie standing out of bounds and comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A.The player incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2) and, since the ball lies out of bounds, he must proceed under Rule 27-1, incurring another penalty stroke.

19-2/5

Ball Deflected or Stopped by Clubs Belonging to Different Side But Carried in Same Bag

Q.A had his bag of clubs on a golf cart. B had only a few clubs, which A carried for him in his bag. B played a stroke that was deflected by the clubs. What is the ruling?

A.Under the principle in the Definition of "Equipment," the clubs are deemed B's equipment.

B incurred a penalty of one stroke and must play his ball as it lies – Rule 19-2.

19-2/6

Ball Deflected or Stopped by Player's Golf Cart Being Pulled by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor

Q.A player's ball strikes his own golf cart while it is being pulled by an opponent or a fellow-competitor. What is the ruling?

A.Since the player is not sharing the cart with any other player, it remains his equipment even when it is being pulled by an opponent or a fellow-competitor (see Note 2 to the Definition of "Equipment").

If the player was aware that his cart was being pulled by an opponent or a fellow-competitor, he incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies – Rule 19-2. But if he was not aware, in equity (Rule 1-4), no penalty is incurred, and the ball must be played as it lies.

Related Decisions:

15/10 Ball Thrown into Bounds by Outside Agency and Played; Neither Player Nor His Caddie Aware of Action of Outside Agency.

18-1/3 Player Unaware Ball Moved by Outside Agency Does Not Replace Ball.

18-5/3 Competitor and Fellow-Competitor Unaware Ball Moved by Fellow-Competitor's Ball Until After Completion of Hole.

19-2/7

Ball Strikes Player's Golf Bag and Then His Caddie

Q.A player's ball strikes his golf bag lying on the ground and then bounces off it and hits his caddie. Is the penalty one stroke or two strokes?

A.One stroke – Rule 19-2.

19-2/8

Player's Ball Strikes Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Bag Left Ahead By Shared Caddie

Q.A and B are either opponents in match play or fellow-competitors in stroke play and they are sharing a caddie. They are on the teeing ground and the caddie is positioned where their tee shots would be expected to come to rest. A's tee shot comes to rest well short of the caddie and B's tee shot comes to rest near the caddie. Without specific directions from either A or B, the caddie leaves B's bag near B's ball and returns with A's bag to A's ball. A's next stroke strikes B's bag. What is the ruling?

A.The Definition of "Caddie" states in part: "When one caddie is employed by more than one player, he is always deemed to be the caddie of the player sharing the caddie whose ball (or whose partner's ball) is involved, and equipment carried by him is deemed to be that player's equipment, except when the caddie acts upon specific directions of another player ... ." As no specific directions were given to the caddie by B, B's bag is deemed to be A's equipment in this case. It is irrelevant that the caddie was not carrying B's bag at the time A's ball struck it.

A incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play his ball as it lies unless the ball has come to rest in or on B's bag – Rule 19-2.

Related Decision:

6-4/1 Meaning of "Specific Directions" in Definition of "Caddie."

19-2/9

Divot Taken After Stroke Strikes Ball in Motion

Q.A player has a short pitch shot to the green. He makes a stroke and, while the ball is still in motion, he makes a subsequent swing and takes a divot out of the ground with his club. The divot deflects or stops the moving ball. What is the ruling?

A.The player is deemed to have accidentally deflected or stopped his ball in motion. He incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies (Rule 19-2).

Related Decisions:

18-1/8 Ball Moved by Stone Dislodged by Partner's or Opponent's Stroke.

18-2a/20.5 Player's Practice Swing Moves Loose Impediment Which Moves Ball.

18-3b/2 Opponent's Stroke Disturbs Bushes Causing Player's Ball to Move.

19-2/10

Ball Stopped or Deflected by Rake Held by Player's Caddie

Q.A player's ball lies in a bunker. He plays, and his ball is accidentally stopped or deflected by a rake that is being held by his caddie. What is the ruling?

A.When a ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by a rake held by or in contact with a player's caddie, the caddie has accidentally deflected or stopped the player's ball in motion in breach of Rule 19-2. The player is responsible for this breach of the Rules by his caddie (see Rule 6-1). The player incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies.

Other Decisions related to Rule 19-2: See "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by equipment of player or partner," "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by player or partner" and "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by player's own caddie" in the Index.

BALL DEFLECTED OR STOPPED BY OPPONENT ACCIDENTALLY

19-3/1

Ball Accidentally Strikes Opponent Standing Out of Bounds and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds

Q.In match play, a player's ball accidentally strikes his opponent, who is standing out of bounds. The ball comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A.There is no penalty and the player is entitled to replay the stroke (Rule 19-3).

19-3/2 (Reserved)

19-3/3

Player's Ball Strikes Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Trolley Then Own Trolley

Q.A player's ball strikes his opponent's or fellow-competitor's trolley and then strikes his own trolley. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, because the ball first struck his opponent's equipment the player may replay the stroke, without penalty, regardless of what happens thereafter to the ball (Rule 19-3). The player may also play the ball as it lies, but would do so under penalty of one stroke because, after striking his opponent's equipment, his ball struck his own equipment (Rule 19-2).

In stroke play, although the ball first struck a fellow-competitor's equipment, the competitor incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies (Rules 19-4, 19-1 and 19-2).

Other Decisions related to Rule 19-3: See "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by opponent, caddie or equipment in match play" in the Index.

BALL DEFLECTED OR STOPPED BY FELLOW-COMPETITOR

For Decisions related to Rule 19-4: See "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by outside agency" in the Index.

BALL DEFLECTED OR STOPPED BY ANOTHER BALL

19-5/1

Player Lifts His Ball on Putting Green and Sets It Aside; Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Ball Played from Green Subsequently Strikes Player's Ball

Q.B lifts his ball on the putting green and sets it aside elsewhere on the green. A then putts and his ball is deflected or stopped by B's ball. What is the ruling?

A.Since A's ball was deflected by B's equipment (see Note 1 under Definition of "Equipment"), Rules 19-3 and 19-4 apply.

In match play, A incurs no penalty and has the option of playing his ball as it lies or canceling and replaying the stroke – Rule 19-3.

In stroke play, A incurs no penalty and must play his ball as it lies – Rules 19-4 and 19-1.

In either form of play, B must replace his ball on the spot from which it was lifted – Rule 20-3a.

Rule 19-5a does not apply because B's ball was not in play.

19-5/1.5

Ball Lifted and Replaced; Ball Then Rolls and Strikes Ball on Putting Green

Q.In stroke play, after a stroke from the putting green, a competitor marks the position of and lifts his ball from the putting green. After he replaces the ball at rest, and before he addresses it, the ball rolls and strikes his fellow-competitor's ball, which was lying on the putting green. Is the player in breach of Rule 19-5a?

A.No. The competitor incurs no penalty and must play the ball from its new position. After the competitor had lifted and replaced his ball, any subsequent movement is not considered to be "after a stroke" for the purposes of Rule 19-5a.

19-5/1.7

Ball Dropped on Putting Green by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor Falls on Player's Moving Ball

Q.A makes a stroke on the putting green. B, A's opponent or a fellow-۬competitor, accidentally drops his ball, which he had lifted, and it falls on A's ball, which is still in motion. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, since A's ball was deflected by B's equipment (see Note 1 under Definition of "Equipment"), Rule 19-3 applies. A has the option of playing his ball as it lies or canceling and replaying the stroke. Neither A nor B incurs a penalty.

In stroke play, A's ball was deflected by a moving outside agency. Therefore, A must cancel and replay his stroke, without penalty, under Rule 19-1b. B incurs no penalty.

In either form of play, B must replace his ball on the spot from which it was lifted – Rule 20-3a.

Rule 19-5b does not apply because B's ball was not in motion after a stroke.

19-5/2

Competitor's Ball Played from Putting Green Strikes Ball on Green Belonging to Competitor Playing in Another Group

Q.In stroke play, C and D are playing together. A and B are playing immediately behind C and D. C's ball lies on the putting green and, since D is searching for his ball, C and D invite A and B to play through. Subsequently, A putts and his ball strikes C's ball. What is the ruling?

A.A incurs a penalty of two strokes and must play his ball as it lies (Rule 19-5). C must replace his ball without penalty (Rule 18-5).

19-5/3 (Reserved)

19-5/4

Competitor's Ball Played from Putting Green Touches But Does Not Move Ball of Fellow-Competitor Lying on Green

Q.In stroke play, A putts and his ball comes to rest touching B's ball. B's ball did not move nor did B's ball prevent A's from rolling any farther. What is the ruling?

A.Since A's ball was not deflected or stopped by B's ball, A incurs no penalty under Rule 19-5 or any other Rule. However, if there is any doubt as to whether B's ball moved or prevented A's ball from rolling any farther, it should be resolved against A.

19-5/5

Provisional Ball Struck by Original Ball

Q.A player's original ball strikes and moves his provisional ball. What is the ruling?

A.Rule 19-5 does not apply because the provisional ball was not in play. Rule 19-2 does not apply because the provisional ball is not the equipment of the player – see Decision 18/7. In equity (Rule 1-4) and by analogy to Rule 19-5a, the player shall play the ball as it lies and no penalty is incurred except that, in stroke play, if both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Related Decisions:

3-3/7 Original Ball Strikes Second Ball or Vice Versa.

18-5/2 Original Ball Struck by Provisional Ball.

Other Decisions related to Rule 19-5: See "Ball Deflected or Stopped: by ball at rest" in the Index.

Rules

Decisions

Partner Links
AmEx image
AmEx image
AmEx image
AmEx image
Chevron
   

The USGA and Chevron have committed to using the game of golf to encourage students in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) disciplines. This commitment has led to the creation of extensive golf-focused STEM teaching tools, and has resulted in charitable contributions to support golf-related programs through Eagles for Education™

At U.S. Open Championships the Chevron STEM ZONE™ is an interactive experience highlighting the science and math behind the game of golf through a variety of hands-on exhibits and experiments.

The partnership has also produced educational materials such as the Science of Golf video series and a nationally-distributed newspaper insert which are provided to teachers as tools to enhance existing curriculum in schools. These lessons teach the science behind the USGA’s equipment testing, handicapping, and agronomy efforts.

For more interactive experiences featuring golf-focused STEM lessons, visit the partnership homepage.


Chevron image
Rolex
   

Rolex has been a longtime supporter of the USGA and salutes the sportsmanship and great traditions unique to the game. This support includes the Rules of Golf where Rolex has partnered with the USGA to ensure golfers understand and appreciate the game.

As the official timekeeper of the USGA and its championships, they also provide clocks throughout host sites for spectator convenience.

For more information on Rolex and their celebration of the game, visit the Rolex and Golf homepage.



Rolex image
IBM
   

IBM has partnered with the USGA to bring the same technology, expertise, and innovation it provides to businesses all over the world to the USGA and golf's national championship.

IBM provides the information technology to develop and host the U.S. Open’s official website, www.usopen.com, as well as the mobile apps and scoring systems for the three U.S. Open championships. These real-time technology solutions provide an enhanced experience for fans following the championship onsite and online.

For more information on IBM and the technology that powers the U.S. Open and businesses worldwide, visit http://www.usopen.com/IBM

AmEx image
Lexus
   

Lexus is committed to partnering with the USGA to deliver a best-in-class experience for the world’s best golfers by providing a fleet of courtesy luxury vehicles for all USGA Championships.

At each U.S. Open, Women’s Open and Senior Open, Lexus provides spectators with access to unique experiences ranging from the opportunity to have a picture taken with both the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open trophies to autograph signings with legendary Lexus Golf Ambassadors in the Lexus Performance Drive Pavilion.

For more information on Lexus, visit http://www.lexus.com/

AmEx image
American Express
   

Together, American Express and the USGA have been providing world-class service to golf fans since 2006. By creating interactive U.S. Open experiences both onsite and online, American Express enhances the USGA’s effort to make the game more accessible and enjoyable for fans.

For more information on American Express visit www.americanexpress.com/entertainment


AmEx image