first round of the 2013 U.S. Women’s Open Thursday afternoon, Cristie Kerr made
an unlikely discovery while playing her second shot. To her surprise, as a result
of her stroke, an abandoned ball hidden beneath her ball in play was dislodged.
is, did she play a wrong ball? The answer comes from the definition of stroke,
15/2. Since Kerr did not have intent
to strike at and move the abandoned ball, she did not make a stroke.
Additionally, the aforementioned Decision clarifies that she did not play a
wrong ball – see Definition of Wrong
Ball and Rule 15-3.
she played her next stroke from where it lay.
For more information on the Rules of
Golf, see the USGA’s Rules of Golf Explained series at http://www.usga-rules.com/.
The USGA will provide up to two Rules of Golf books for
minimal shipping and handling charge. Please contact the USGA Order Department
at 1-800-336-4446, Monday
through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (ET) or go to the USGA Shop on usga.org.
Rob Ockenfuss is a Manager, Rules
Inquiries for the USGA.