By Rob Ockenfuss
Kohler, Wis. – Leader Na Yeon Choi’s drive on the 10th hole during the final round was hit into the lateral water hazard down the left side. Choi advanced forward to the drive zone to evaluate where the ball crossed the margin of the hazard. The determination of this location is a question of fact and must be made by reviewing the circumstances and evidence available.
In this case, the testimony of the players, marshals, referees, as well as the available television coverage, were used to determine if the ball last crossed the lateral water hazard margin by the fairway or close to the teeing ground (Decision 34-3/9).
The final determination was that the ball last crossed the hazard margin near the teeing ground. Choi opted to proceed under Rule 26-1a, the stroke and distance option of this Rule. She went on to make a triple-bogey 8.
Rob Ockenfuss is a Manager, Rules Inquiries. Email him at firstname.lastname@example.org.