On the green of Sahalee Country Club’s second hole, Dave Massey of Scottsdale, Ariz., inadvertently had his caddie standing behind him while he was putting.
Decision 14-2/4 covers this exact situation. It states the following:
14-2/4 Caddie Inadvertently Stands on Extension of Line of Play Behind Ball
Q. A player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the player's line of play behind the ball when the player made a stroke. The caddie was watching another player play from the next tee. Neither the player nor his caddie was aware that the caddie was so located. Was the player subject to penalty under Rule 14-2b?
A. No. The purpose of Rule 14-2b is to prohibit a caddie from positioning himself behind the player while the player makes a stroke in order to advise the player on alignment or otherwise assist him. In this case, the caddie was not so positioned.
The same ruling would apply if the player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the line of putt behind the ball during the stroke.
Massey’s walking referee determined there was no breach, however, he did advise the caddie to be much more careful about where he stands.